Time to train my husband!

Discussion in 'Beginner Training & Nutrition' started by kirstny, Jul 9, 2009.

1. kirstny

kirstny Well-Known Member

Yay! He asked me to write him a 5 day program (weights and cardio).

He's VERY overweight, but he's strong. All we have at home (where he'll be working out) is: a treadmill, a stationary bike, and a bowflex adjustable db set (up to 32.5lbs each side, or about that).

I know, I'm a trainer, but this isn't just a client, it's my guy! It's hard to be objective. :lol: I want to give him something doable and effective, but not too time intensive. I want it to be encouraging, not discouraging.

I'm thinking:
    maybe circuit style lifting? I mean, 1 set of chest, 1 set of back, 1 set of legs (all compound movements); repeated 2x to start (maybe start at 12+ reps, just to get his ligaments, etc. ready and get used to the routine). Follow it with 20-30 min. SS. Then intervals on the 2 days in-between?

What do you guys think?

This is HUGE that he's asking for my help in this.
    I just hope this mood lasts!
    :bannana:

2. kirstny

No one?
    :wavesad:

3. Anca

Anca Well-Known Member

Congrats on getting your hubby to start working out! :thumb:
    I've been designing my hubby's workouts for a year (even before I got my NSCA-CPT). He's been doing PSMF for 8 months and is down 45 lbs. ( :clap: ) He's only been doing weights since his calories are so low.
    How is your husband's diet going to look like? Does he understand that the diet will be the biggest factor in his weight loss? Hopefully he does and he sticks to it- otherwise there's potential for the "your workouts are not helping me lose weight" discussion.
    Anyways- since he doesn't go to the gym, your options are limited; but it can still be done. Here's what I would give him: