Cardio?

Discussion in 'Beginner Training & Nutrition' started by MissyG, Aug 19, 2014.

1. MissyG

MissyG Member

Total newbie here & new to the LBC program. I personally like to be educated on what I am doing and why. I am being hit from all sides about lack of cardio in what I am doing. They say "yeah you may end up being fit and have muscles, but you wont be able to run to the end of the block if someone is chasing you. Big waste." I have no response to this because I am not educated on the WHY and how it plays into overall body health. I've done a search but haven't come up with an answer. :unsure:

2. Inatic

Inatic Ya Gotta Wanna! Moderator

what kind of cardio are they talking about?

and what the heck is wrong with them. seriously! If that was me, find another gym just for peace of my mind.

3. OneMadMonkey

OneMadMonkey Well-Known Member

I'm doing a hill workout and a sprint workout every week because I'm leaning out. But prior, I was on no cardio at all. I had no problems running and did great with my fitness test for work.

4. Inatic

and...

Im curious, what do they think you should be doing as far as cardio?

5. MissyG

MissyG Member

The conversation started last week about what I am doing and why. I like good in depth conversation, so I have been letting him speak thus far. He says if he were my coach he would have me doing cardio 2-3 times a week. Not just running, but something SS. He keeps asking if my goal is to be a body builder...... I linked him to Eric's SS cardio escalade vs. civic blog post and asked for his thoughts on that. His response:

So. I have no rebuttal for this because I don't yet understand WHY I do not need to do cardio 3 times a week for heart health or endurance.

6. MissyG

MissyG Member

So prior you were no cardio at all and past a PT test at work just fine? Excellent. Thank you!

7. MissyG

MissyG Member