Acne Problems - Diet and hormone related?

Discussion in 'Health & Beauty' started by chickadee1020, Jul 16, 2014.

1. chickadee1020

chickadee1020 Member

I was fortunate enough to have pretty decent skin when I was younger. However, since my early 20s, I've had adult acne, which I've been battling for about 5 years. After going to a traditional dermatologist, I realized those remedies would not work for me so I've been focusing on a homeopathic and holistic approach for the past couple of years. I firmly believe that the reason for my acne is related to potential hormone imbalances and what I eat and drink. My acne started after I was on birth control pills for years and also when I started to workout more and change my diet.

I would love to hear from anyone that has had similar experience and would love recommendations. I'm actually going to see a new holistic doctor tomorrow and I expect that she will run some blood work. If there are any specific things you would recommend that I test for to help me prepare for my new journey with LBC and that may also help with skin problems, I would love to hear about them! Thanks!

2. OneMadMonkey

OneMadMonkey Well-Known Member

I've been having the same problem since May of this year. I can't get my face to stop breaking out, and I've never had acne issues before. I started exfoliating 3x a week, and it has made my face noticeably smoother and younger looking, but the bumps keep coming. It seems like a new one everyday.

3. Inatic

Inatic Ya Gotta Wanna! Moderator

hard to say what is causing it but when there is an imbalance with your hormones, it could be that. Higher androgens tend to be the cause in many people but not all.

4. cathymp

cathymp Well-Known Member

This is why I get it. Acne is, for me, a clear tell-tale sign that my estrogen is dropping and I need to get in for an adjustment.

5. novamt

novamt Member